Random Health Topic-Asbestos

A few weeks ago I wrote about superfoods in my Meal Plan Monday post and I wanted to follow up that post with another post.

What is Asbestos?

Asbestos is a naturally-occurring mineral that possesses excellent insulating and heat-shielding properties. Because of this, it has long been used in a variety of products, including building materials like insulation, gaskets, floor and ceiling tiles, and drywall tape, as well as in automotive products such as brake pads and shoes and clutch plates

Asbestos left alone poses a lesser risk than when its is damaged. This is because the fibers release into the air and can be easily inhaled into the body. They can get trapped inside, causing tumors to grow. No matter the amount of exposure, asbestos can still put you at risk for developing a form of cancer known as mesothelioma. 

When approached to write about this topic I wondered, “Why should I write about this?”  I’m sure some of my regular readers are also thinking this seems a bit random even for me but I have my reasons and I’ll start with the biggest one.

My primary motivation for writing about this is I know all types of cancer are terrible.  I’ve experienced several types within my immediate family and within my workplace.  There’s no one type of cancer deserving of more attention than another and if I can share information to help prevent someone from getting cancer or simply bring awareness to a lesser known type of cancer then it was worth it.

I chose to write about this because of the reason above plus my concern about some of the other buildings I work and live.  Buildings that could possibly contain asbestos and while I’m not going to start wearing a mask, launch into frenzied panic, or excessively preach the dangers to my coworkers I am going to be aware.

This apartment was built in the 90’s but I know I’ve looked at older places.  It’s good to remember to ask a landlord about when the apartments were built, when was the last remodel, and if the building has been tested for asbestos (this last question primary for older buildings).  I’ll definitely be revisiting this information when I start apartment hunting at the end of the summer, as well as when I do finally take that plunge to actually purchase a home.  That of course is very far into the future, first I have to figure out what I want to be when I grow up and where I want to live for an extended period of time.

Below is a checklist that can help to remember some of the main points to W.A.T.C.H for in the home.

MAA_watch_checklist.jpg

If you want more information and to request a free guide visit the Mesothelioma & Asbestos Awareness Center https://www.maacenter.org/

One comment

  1. Nena · March 30, 2016

    Yes! Very important to ask!

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts...

