Meal Plan Monday-Farmers Market

 

Yesterday my plans were to go couch shopping but I woke up with a ridiculous headache and cancelled those plans.  Next on my weekend agenda was the farmers market.

As I backed the car out of the garage the rain began so I ran upstairs and grabbed a hat.  I wasn’t going to let a little rain stop me from checking out the market.  I had a vague idea of where I was heading but as I followed the directions form my GPS I recognized the area as someplace I’d gotten lost before.  Thankfully today I wasn’t lost 🙂

Until I turned into the parking lot for the market and didn’t see a market.  I parked next to the car in front of me then stepped out of the car and stood lost for a minute before finally picking a group of people to follow.  I eventually started smelling food and seeing tents letting me know I was heading in the right direction.

The market is huge and at the end I was so turned around I thought I would be destined to wander around the fresh produce and hand crafted goods forever while carrying around a giant bouquet of flowers…..

Eventually I found my way out and headed home, thinking about my meal plan along the way.  I didn’t think I bought very much but once I unpacked everything I realized I have more than enough to make meals for the week.

After eating pretty terrible for the last couple weeks I decided this week I would use the farmers market as inspiration for my meal plan.  I’m no gourmet chef but I knew I could pick out ingredients I like to eat and figure out recipes later, which is what I’ve done.

I’m excited to be back to trying out new foods and recipes again.  The peanut sauce is something I’d never tried before but a little sample and I was hooked.  The garlic sauce works as a dip or a marinade.  I’ll probably freeze half the shrimp to use next week, as well as some pork chops.  It’s nice to have fresh ingredients and I’m going to try to go at least every other week.  In June there’s one on Fridays across the street from me so I’ll probably alternate between the Friday and Sunday one.

Here is my meal plan for the week:

Monday:  Fettuccine with shrimp

Tuesday:  Out for trivia

Wednesday:  Brown rice with shiitake mushrooms

Thursday:  Hearty shiitake mushroom and miso soup

Friday:  Noodles with peanut sauce

I’m back on track with my writing and will be probably be revisiting some topics of the past.  Last week I was thinking about subscribing to a beauty box, like Birchbox, then began to think of better things I could spend money on monthly.  After some research I found a gym I can join for only $10 a month with no contract so I think I’m going to give it a try.

I’ll let you guys know how the gym thing goes and share some pics of my awesome meals.  Hope everyone had a lovely weekend! 🙂  It always seems to go by so fast….

tumblr_nunc7hh2uw1sm6qp8o1_500

 

 

Share your thoughts...

