Good Bye Couch :(

When I moved over here I was lucky enough to find a friend who loaned me a couch but unfortunately the day has come when the couch must be returned.  In about an hour I will once again be couchless 😥  I think I’ll be okay but considering the featured image was taken about 15 minutes ago I don’t know how James the cat will handle it.

It sucks but in the back of my mind I knew eventually I was either going to be buying or returning it. Right up to the last text message I was hoping she might change her mind and decide to sell but the couch is pretty comfy so I understand why she would want it back.

On the bright side I get to go pick something out that will be all mine.

On the dark side I have to go furniture shopping and right now that sounds like a chore.

I might checkout some of the sites like Craigslist because I know you can find some good deals but there’s also a dark side to the site that I’d like to try to avoid.

It might be the older side of me that still feels nervous about buying something for more than $100 from a stranger instead of a legitimate business….We’ll see what happens.  I don’t want to rush the decision but I also don’t want to spend a ton of time without a couch but I want to find the right thing so I can have it for awhile.

This situation also helps me realize how fortunate I am to have received help from so many people over the years.

kindness-of-strangersOkay, maybe not strangers but amazing family and friends.  My last few couches have been hand me downs, so it’s time to continue with my trend of grown up purchases.  First a bed, now a couch, hoping a car is next on the list but I’m taking it one thing at a time on an as needed basis.  Finances are comfortable but still a little tight so I don’t want to go overboard.  Luckily this happened right around Memorial Day when sales are everywhere!  aaeaaqaaaaaaaai2aaaajdlhmzcxyjq1lty5mtqtngfjms04y2uzltvjnzzintiwmwq1mg

When I first moved over here I didn’t think I was going to be able to pay rent, much less buy furniture.  Now I’ve worked out managing my lower income with higher expenses so I feel more confident making a purchase.  I still have days where I feel like I’m living in a dream.  I know I’ve said it a dozen or more times before but this life is so far removed from the life I was living, it’s so much better that I sometimes still can’t believe it’s real.

Now it’s on to the next adventure, “Buy a Couch” 😀  59846124

I won’t go into more about the furniture shopping but will have another post coming out today or tomorrow about meal plans.  My meal plan shifted a little because I had to leave town for a day this week but in the slow cooker right now is a shiitake mushroom beef soup 🙂

Hope everyone is having a good weekend!  Any tips for furniture shopping?

 

 

 

2 comments

  1. briana1010 · May 23, 2016

    Furniture shopping is a special kind of hell haha. Took me and my bf forever to find the “right” combo, and then we found out after sitting on it at home that he’s allergic to leather, so it’s been covered for the past 3 years. Oh well.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Daisy9979 · May 23, 2016

      Oh no! I found one pretty quick and so far it’s alright. After about 3 hours of shopping I was done so I went with my first favorite and now just hope it was the right choice 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts...

