Meal Plan Monday

Last week I had to leave for training so much of my meal plan went out the window but the one thing I kept was making soup with the shiitake mushrooms I had on hand from the farmers market.  I chose to find a recipe I could make in the slow cooker on Saturday.

IMG_2780.JPGIt’s a pretty basic soup and actually tasted better last night when I ate it as leftovers.  Potatoes, carrots, beef, mushrooms, tomatoes, beef stock…a very hearty soup 🙂  My soups still aren’t outstanding and often feel like something is missing to make an amazing flavor profile (I watch Top Chef) but I keep trying.  I like soup and figure the more I make, the better they will get….well, that’s my theory anyways 😉

The other thing I want to work on with my soups is making smaller batches because this week my meal plan is basically:

Monday:  Soup

Tuesday:  Out for trivia

Wednesday:  Soup

Thursday:  Soup

Friday:  Soup? No.  Pasta with olive oil, spinach, and bacon

I forgot I bought this amazingly delicious garlic and mushroom olive oil at the farmer’s market.  I drizzled it on some bread the other day but I’m really looking forward to trying it with pasta.

I was going to make the pasta on Thursday but I have my free training session that day.  I’m very excited about getting back into the gym and to further solidify my commitment I’ve been telling everyone all  day about how I joined a gym.  The more people I tell the more I feel like I have to follow through even though I don’t think it’ll be a problem because I really want this change.

I’m worried that after a day at work I won’t feel like working out but I think after a few weeks I’ll settle into a routine.  I’m lucky because I get off work at 4 most days so I can beat the after work rush 😀  The other option is to go in the morning but I would have to go at 5AM so I’m thinking after work is going to work better for the moment.

I’ll keep you guys posted on how it goes.  My goal right now is 4 days a week, 3 days during the week then a weekend day if I don’t go hiking.

It’s time to grab my thinking cap and head off to trivia!  Hope the week is treating you well!

 

Share your thoughts...

