The Do-Over

I’ll have meal plans up next week but I’ve brought my lunch every day this week.  If you read my meal plans you know I like simple so for lunches I’m keeping it simple and easy.

FullSizeRender (3)Flour tortilla with whipped cream cheese, cucumbers, and turkey lunch meat, extra cucumbers, and some grapes.  Today I made a similar lunch with avocado instead of cream cheese.  This lunch is nice if it’s refrigerated but not the end of the world if it’s not.

I missed my step goal yesterday but I’ll make it today.

I was worried I was going to be stuck at work late today but this morning I threw my gym bag in the car and I’m so glad I did because I ended up leaving work on time; however, it was a stressful day so I was tempted to skip but I told myself this is a day where I really need a workout.  I knew going home and curling up with Netflix wasn’t going to make me feel better but walking on the treadmill for 30 minutes might help me relax.

I did have a realization at the gym today and that is…..

I’m not going to make myself crazy with my workouts and my step count.  As I found myself checking my rank in the step challenge every few minutes on my FitBit app, I had to ask myself, “Who am I doing this for?”

Don’t get me wrong, I want to one day get first place and bragging rights in the Workweek Hustle Challenge I’ve been part of for the last couple months but the top people are getting in 10+ miles a day or 20,000+ steps.

I also had to realize I’m not going to get to that point in less than a month at the gym.   bcfee7a34dd1be73a1189dbdf47a9c59

This doesn’t mean I’m not going to push myself but I’m concerned if I push too much I’ll get burnt out.  My plan right now is to do 35 minutes on the treadmill 4 days a week, which right now is about 1.5 miles (slow and steady) so the goal is to go faster to get more miles rather than logging in more time every night.  This way I can do 20-25 minutes of strength training 2 days a week (plus 1 night at home) and only have an hour in the gym.

At this point I’m not doing leg day or arm day.  I’m using some of the routines I used before when I was working with a trainer and that’s working for me.

I know most of this post probably sounds familiar to those who have followed me for awhile and I continue to feel guilty for letting myself fall so far backwards but I figure this is a do-over 😀  Another chance to start anew on my path to a healthy lifestyle.

Work has started to feel a bit overwhelming so I think it’s more important than ever for me to settle back into good habits.  Hope everyone is having a great week!  I can’t believe it’s Wednesday already!  One day closer to the weekend!

 

 

4 comments

  1. Layla · June 9, 2016

    Simple is good!! Sometimes I look at Pinterest and see all those amazing stuff to bring to work for lunch. But really, I just love my sandwich. I’ll keep the fancy lunches for the weekend.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Daisy9979 · June 12, 2016

      I drool over pictures of perfectly prepped containers stacked neatly in the refrigerator but that’s just not me right now so I stick to my wraps 🙂 I like to up my game on the weekends but during the week, easier is better.

      Like

  2. youmeanme · June 9, 2016

    It’s funny how life is like that! I just came across a workout post from about a month ago. I was on a roll! Now, back to the beginning!

    Your post helped me see that I didn’t fail, I just need to recommit 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Daisy9979 · June 12, 2016

      I’m so happy I could help with some inspiration. It’s not easy to recommit after a setback but it’s definitely possible and it feels good to get back on track! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts...

