The Broken Window 

I walked down the stairs Tuesday morning, kind of dragging my feet after the long holiday weekend.  I was planning my work day as I opened the garage door.  I push the button to open the garage, and as I look out the door I  notice my trunk is open.  My first thought, “Did I leave the trunk open?”

I turn on the light, do a quick scan of the area and walk toward the trunk only to notice my driver’s side door open, and finally I see this…….IMG_3305.JPG

Shock.  That’s the best word to describe the feeling as my brain begins to process what happened.  It takes longer than I think it should to register what’s happened as my brain sorts through both the rational and irrational scenarios to explain the scene in front of me.

The trunk is open, a hole in the window, driver’s side door open, glove box open….yep, someone broke into my garage then broke into my car.

I felt some tears well up in my eyes, hands slightly shaky I walked outside and dialed 911. Thankfully I don’t keep much in the car so I don’t think they found anything worth taking.  I spent 3 hours of my morning dealing with it, took the cops 2 hours to show up but I understand my call was not a high priority call.  I was okay.  James the cat was okay.  My home was okay.  My car had a broken window.

I never cried even though I felt like I was on the verge a few times, mostly I was just angry.

I was angry someone decided to violate my sense of security.

I was angry I was missing work.

I was angry at having to deal with fixing my window.

I was angry and annoyed.

angry-mr-bean-shakes-head

This is a pretty accurate portrayal of my reaction just add cursing.

Unfortunately, angry and annoyed were not the only emotions.  Shock hung around me…….I spent most of the day like a zombie, partially because my natural reaction after a stressful situation is to sleep.  I hang tough through the crisis then once the situation is handled my body wants to shut down.

The emotion that caught me off guard and didn’t hit me until later in the day was fear.  I found myself longing to hide.  I almost skipped trivia night because I didn’t want to leave my apartment, didn’t want to go to the garage, didn’t want to come home to the garage.  I was scared.

The good news is I didn’t skip trivia, didn’t hide, and going forward I won’t hide or be scared.  It’s a conflict within me, part of me has fears that make me want to cower and part of me just realizes (pardon my language)…..shit happens then you move on.

 

It’s a fact, sometimes bad things happen but you can do something about it.  In my case, I’m going to get my window fixed this weekend, continue to live my life, and be grateful.

Things I’m grateful for:

I still have a car.

I didn’t have much in the car for anyone to steal.

I wasn’t in the car.

It’s a small window and I can afford to have it fixed.

I’m okay.

I hope they catch whoever did it because I was not the only victim that day but from my understanding I was luckier than most.  That’s all I have to write about right now.  As usual, writing makes me feel better about the situation.  I know this is kind of random from my regular posts but I needed to write about this to get it out of my system.

Hope everyone is having a good week!  At trivia we came in 2nd which was better than 4th place the week before and I won 4 tickets to a minor league baseball game so the day definitely improved.

 

Share your thoughts...

