Unicorn Hair!

At the end of last week I did something I’ve always wanted to do…dye my hair a crazy color, well in my case I did 3 crazy colors, purple, pink, and blue.  My stylist referred to it as “unicorn hair” and I loved that name so much that’s what I’m calling this color.

A little over a month ago I did blonde with very pale lavender highlights and it was beautiful but it made me want more color.  I went in this time thinking I would maybe just get more colored highlights then at the last minute decided, “Let’s do this!” and presented a picture of what I wanted.

I told her this is why I don’t have tattoos because I think once I got started I would be hooked.

I love the colors!  I’ll do another pic tomorrow because it’s fading beautifully.  The end product was a little brighter than I thought it would be because apparently my hair loves color, so even diluted 75% it came out hot pink instead of cotton candy pink.  I think if I do brights like hot pink I’ll do highlights underneath or with brown or black hair instead of blonde.

I don’t know why but I thought it would feel weird to have an unnatural hair color and I was worried people might treat me differently.  I expected more looks of disapproval but if anything it appears to make me more approachable and it’s a great conversation starter.  Good or bad I’ve had more random conversations with people this week because of my hair.

badass_unicorn_large

Even though I look in the mirror and realize I have rainbow colored hair it feels normal to me.

It doesn’t affect my ability to do my job.  

It doesn’t change who I am as a person (although it does make me just a little bit happier).

It doesn’t mean I live some crazy alternative lifestyle.  

It’s just hair.  

I understand it’s not acceptable in many workplaces and I’m lucky to be in a place where it is acceptable, although I know as I climb the ranks I’ll need to tone it down but that’s why I’m getting it out of my system now.  My plan is to let this fade out then do a full head of either lavender or pale pink but we’ll see what happens because it’s also not free and I don’t want to bankrupt myself because of a hair color addiction XD

I have more posts planned for the rest of this week and will be doing some serious writing today.  I had to attend training yesterday out of town, which I knew was an all day event with a 3 hour drive home at the end so I took today off.  It feels random having a day off in the middle of the week and I feel like I should be productive but I also just want to relax because I have a busy weekend planned 🙂

Happy Wednesday!!  Feel free to share any thoughts, questions, comments.  Have you or do you dye your hair crazy colors?  What are your thoughts about unnatural colored hair in the workplace?

 

9 comments

  1. pseudonymous · December 14

    Lol how the hell is this related to my blog post

    Like

    • Daisy9979 · December 15

      Hello! Now I’m curious about how this is related 🙂 What blog post? I don’t think I have any links in this post.

      Liked by 1 person

      • pseudonymous · December 15

        Why hello there pleased to meet you! I’m pseudonymous so what’s it matter much? Isn’t WordPress just the grandest of all? These new features make you feel like you used to live in the stoneage don’t you think? Like, wow, here we are! Because the WP algorithm found some new fun connection between us that never would have existed otherwise. Unicorn hair! Not sure, but it was one of mine, and I’ve been known to sail ships into comment boxes, so,

        Like

  2. A Pampered Life · July 28, 2016

    Love it! The office I work in would never go for it, but it would be perfect for my side business because the company Logo is bright pink! Google “galaxy hair” its super pretty too.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Daisy9979 · August 1, 2016

      I love the galaxy hair! It’s so pretty! I’m lucky to be in a place where it’s acceptable for my position so I figure now’s the time to have fun! You should do a hint of pink or a pink streak underneath 😉 A little hidden pop of color

      Liked by 1 person

      • A Pampered Life · August 1, 2016

        Ive actually thought of doing that same exact thing!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Daisy9979 · August 4, 2016

        Do it!! I’m trying to convince everyone to add a little color to their hair 😉

        Like

  3. Pingback: Wine and Painting | Transitions in my Life
  4. youmeanme · July 20, 2016

    Gorgeous!

    Like

Share your thoughts...

