I work out….

alone.

 

I’ve written before about my hermit tendencies but I think I’m getting better at balancing my “me time” with social times…for the most part.

The one area I struggle to be social is at the gym.  Every time someone talks about going to the gym together I avoid the conversation because I don’t want to go with someone else.  Maybe I just need to open myself up to it but every time someone talks about going to the gym together I change the subject….it’s awkward.

Friend:  “Hey, we should go to the gym sometime after work.”

Me:  “I saw a crow hopping up the stairs outside my window today.  It was hilarious.”

Friend:  “I usually go around 5:00”

Me:  *Runs away*tumblr_inline_n9ulctcmr31s7zaol

It’s not that I’m antisocial or not a team player.  I enjoy people encouraging me to go to the gym and I like to encourage others to go but I don’t want to go together.  Is that weird?  I’ve explained it to people before and they seem to take it personally even though it’s not.

It’s not them.  It’s me.  I’m just not a fan of the group workout or even the two person team workout.  I want to be alone.  garbo

I go to the gym.  I change clothes.  I put on Rap Strength Training on Pandora.  I walk on the treadmill.  I watch Family Feud.  I’m in my bubble (it’s around the treadmill).  I become annoyed when the bubble is disrupted.

61111451

I think part of it is because my job is social.  I’m talking with people all day.  I’m constantly working at a high level of awareness.  In a sense I feel like I’m always “on” and my workouts let me turn off for a minute.  No polite smiles.  No small talk.  It’s just me, loud rap music, and Steve Harvey.  It’s just walking with little to no thinking and I love it.

Any thoughts?  Who’s your favorite workout partner?  For right now, mine is me 😀

2 comments

  1. youmeanme · August 18, 2016

    I’m with you! I’ve gone so far as to attempt working out at home

    Like

  2. Layla · August 18, 2016

    I always liked working out alone as well. Just a moment for myself, clear my head.. Group sports brrrrr…

    Like

Share your thoughts...

