Rest Day

I almost called in sick today but wasn’t really feeling sick enough to call in sick, just kind of….not really feeling it today…..so I went into work and left early.  I was exhausted for some reason so I decided to listen to my body and take a rest day but it was challenging.

Even as I left work I contemplated going to the gym for a quick mile or two then decided a better option would be to get home, put my feet up, get some ice on my aching ankles, take some ibuprofen, and rest.  That’s what I’ve been trying to do today but I keep thinking about how I can’t wait to get back to the gym tomorrow.

I’m so excited because I had my best mile time yesterday.  The problem is I also have a little voice in my head telling me it’s not that impressive.  I’m still super slow but I have to keep reminding myself that my times are all about me.  All about my goals and the little accomplishments along the way.  It’s so easy to think what you’ve accomplished isn’t good enough compared to other people.

I guess the point I make by writing what keeps popping into my head is to not compare yourself to everyone around you.

Work at your own pace.  Set your own goals.  Crush your goals.

Most importantly:  Celebrate your success along the way!

Here is my little bit of success……I jogged/walked my fastest mile to date, 17:46!  I’m slowly working my way to my 15 minute mile goal.  I’ve been walking more than jogging but yesterday was more jogging.

howtogetbackintorunning_jog

I think I’m extra excited because it felt good.  I felt like I found a groove or a rhythm, like I began to understand why people like running so much.  I’m also helped by an amazing support group at work who proceeded to high five me and tell me I did a good job when I meekly said, “I jogged almost an entire mile yesterday.”  They help keep me motivated.

 

I’ll be back in the gym tomorrow and Friday then maybe a short walk/jog on Saturday.  I have a 5K on Sunday so I’m trying not to overdo it too much but also want to keep myself moving.

I’ve decided on 4 days a week at the gym, one rest day during the work week, an active weekend day, and a rest day on the weekend, basically 5 days on, 2 days off.  Not that I’ll be laying on the couch during my rest days but won’t be as focused on getting a work out in on those days….unless I really feel like it.

I’m going to see if this little runners’ high carries over into the upcoming weeks, and if so I’m going to be shopping for some new shoes.

That’s all for now.  I’m off to lounge a bit more before my early bed time tonight.  Hope the week is treating everyone well!  We’re almost to the weekend!  🙂

Share your thoughts...

