Hello :)

I did my first 5K of the year last weekend and I was pretty happy with my time.

I came in at 50:19.  My last 5K in December was 55:23  so I’ve definitely made some improvements in my time and my goal for the first half of this year is to be able to do a 15:00 mile.

I’m putting in plenty of miles each days but I’m struggling to find balance right now.  It’s sometimes difficult to know the difference between pushing yourself to do more and pushing yourself too much.  I only made it to the gym 3 days this week but I did hit my 11,000 step goal every day of the week.

cheering_minionsHave I mentioned how much having support helps?  It’s been amazing to find coworkers and friends who are also interested in getting healthy.

I have people to walk with, people who encourage me to go to the gym, people who find runs for us to participate in, people who encourage bringing lunches instead of eating out, etc, etc.

They encourage me to get moving on days when I feel more Carrie than Charlotte or Miranda….

2014-06-07-singapore-walking

It makes a HUGE difference.  Even though they might never see this post I’ll say thank you to them anyways because their support is amazing!

In other news….

I didn’t win the Biggest Loser challenge at work

635933615630999966-208086909_12_zpsqx0fbba1

Actually I wasn’t too heart broken.  I knew I hadn’t lost much weight.

The woman who won is one of my walking buddies but she walks about 5 miles more per week than I do…she’s a machine.  Some people were surprised because walking is all she does for exercise but she’s also doing the whole 30 right now and I think people forget how much food plays a role in weight loss.

Speaking of food….I did both good and bad this week but I know I need to get back to meal prepping.  Going to the gym for at least an hour every night means I might not get home until 6:30, and I’m typically exhausted so trying to think of what I want to make for dinner takes too much effort.

Thankfully I have tons of healthy food on hand but I’ll gravitate to the easiest option.  One night it was chips and hummus….not exactly a complete meal.  I will have meal plans up this week.  I’m not allowed to spend any money this week so I’ll be working with whatever I have on hand but the truth is I have tons of food on hand and there is no need for me to grocery shop this week.

My feet and legs are aching so I’m going to have a no working out day.  I plan to go to the gym tomorrow for a little bit in the morning or if it’s not pouring down rain maybe walk over to see a movie.

I’m going to maybe soak my feet for a bit, put on some fluffy socks, and kick back to catch up on movies or binge watch a TV show….or nap all day 😉  We’ll see how it goes, basically the plan is recuperation.

steve-carrell-the-office-ice-cream Happy Saturday!  🙂

 

Share your thoughts...

