Meal Plan Monday

The start of a new week means another week of meal plans.  I did well sticking to the plan last week so I’m hoping I can keep it up moving forward.  A friend needed to talk on Friday night so we went to Chinese food, not the best option, not the worst.

I’m going to be upping my workouts this week but also really focusing on keeping a schedule at night.  I want to incorporate more writing, more reading, and less cell phone time into my evenings.  I try this every so often but for this coming week I’ll be incorporating a no cell phone in bed policy.  07188e5acd48bc83c10b3735fd0fde1f

It seems easy but I’m consistently guilty of going to bed early then laying in bed checking Facebook, Pinterest, or playing games on my phone.  I’m starting with this week and see how it goes.  My hope is it will help me sleep better and feel more rested plus with more reading time I’ll be able to make a dent in my giant “to-read” list.

This week will involve a trip to Costco and a regular grocery store.  The list is relatively small but will help keep me stocked for upcoming meal plans.  Rice, lemons, spinach, chicken, tortilla chips, hummus, pretzels, and stir fry veggies.

Last week I sprinkled some seasoning on store bought pretzels and baked them on low in the oven for an inexpensive snack option.

I continue to hone in on what foods and/or meals work best for me.  This week string cheese and yogurts were my top two go-to snacks.  I’m going to be working on finding or creating my own versions of these Chobani yogurts because they’re my favorite but the sugar content is super high.

My imaginary happy place is fully stocked with this key lime crumble flavor.   Unfortunately in reality, 19 grams of sugar is WAY too high for a snack or a breakfast.

chobani-flip-key-lime-crumble

Bagels with cream cheese and shredded chicken were perfect for on the go breakfast.  I thought the chicken was good for a little protein in the morning but this week I’m going to incorporate more eggs.

Writing this reminded me I need to boil some eggs for this next week.  Boiled eggs are great for breakfast or for snacks.

Last thing, I have 3 cans of chickpeas in the cupboard so I wanted to make some this week. If anyone has any good ideas for inexpensive, easy chickpea recipes let me know.

I’ll be back with a running post this week because I have a 10K coming up 2 weeks from today!  I feel moderately prepared but still nervous.

Enjoy the rest of Sunday evening and here’s hoping for a smooth start to the week!  😀

 

 

Monday

Lunch:  Chicken noodle soup

Dinner: Tikka Masala veggies with chicken and pasta

Tuesday

Lunch: Leftovers

Dinner:  Out

Wednesday

Lunch: Leftovers

Dinner:  Breakfast for dinner

Thursday

Lunch:  Chicken wrap with a side of fruit

Dinner: Something with chickpeas

Friday

Lunch:  Out

Dinner: Pork loin roast w/stir fry veggies and rice

 

Share your thoughts...

