10K Number 2. Done.

Meal plans will be back next week.  If you make it to the end of the post you will see they are desperately needed…but in the meantime here’s exciting racing news 😀

I completed my second 10K on Sunday.  Shin splints kicked in right at the beginning and I honestly didn’t think I would finish.

I was alone.

I didn’t have anyone to push me so I had to count on myself.

As cheesy as it may sound, I had to dig real deep and decide that I wasn’t going to quit.  I had to think back to words of encouragement from my friends and family.   Part of me became self-conscious because I knew I was close to last place but the other part of me chimed in with a reminder “You’re faster than everyone sitting at home right now”  It was that part of me that pushed me forward, that part of me that decided even if I hobbled in last I was going to finish.

I did finish and I wasn’t last.  I beat 7 other people so I’ve got some room to improve.  I did set a new PR….Seeing my min/mi time below 17:00 was awesome!  I shaved 3:00 off my last 10K, which doesn’t sound like much but it’s a big deal.

FullSizeRender (18).jpgI also failed to realize where the camera was located.  It’s not my most flattering pic but it shows me finishing something I didn’t think I could do.

me.jpg

I was excited to add another medal to my growing collection and can’t wait to add more.  I’m going to have to start using the other end of the bookcase or find an alternative display.

FullSizeRender (17).jpg

I have 3 more 5K’s planned this summer plus an 8 mile run in August.  I find it so hard to believe this all started from finding someone else who said, “Yes, a 5K sounds like fun”  It stemmed from not just saying, “Let’s do it” to actually registering and going.  I’ve now completed 6-5K’s and 2-10K’s.  My goal is to do at least one more 10K this year, maybe October.

The BIG, ULTIMATE goal, and I put that in all caps because it’s a BIG deal…..is the Disney World Half Marathon.

I registered today.  It’s going to happen.  Nothing like spending more than you ever thought you would spend on a race to get you motivated.

Thank you to my brother to taking my idea for a goal and saying, “Here’s the one we should do” and helping to make it a reality.

I’m nervous because you have to be at the minimum at a 16:00 mile pace but I keep reminding myself that I’m not far from that…but I tend to hover around 17:00-18:00 if I’m not really pushing…but I used to be at about 20:00 so I’m constantly improving.

Also, I have 8 months to train.

IMG_8168.JPG

I’m trying to walk 4-5 miles at least 3-4 times a week.  Tomorrow will be my first day trying to go to the gym in the early hours for a quick weight training session…ugh.  I hate mornings.

Nutrition needs to get back on track.  Late nights out walking, plus no meal plans leaves me grabbing take out, or like tonight realizing it’s after 7PM and all I’ve eaten for dinner is half a bag of chips and a handful of chocolate eggs….not exactly the meal of someone trying to improve their running times…but I’ll do better tomorrow!  I did good all day but let myself stress eat a little bit tonight 😦

Hope everyone is having a great week!  It’s going to be a busy few weeks but I’ll do my best to check in for a quick post and will definitely be writing meal plans on Sunday that do not include chocolate eggs 😉

One comment

  1. Layla · 12 Days Ago

    Great job!!! So Proud of you. Getting your nutrition better will help improve your time even more!! I could only dream of doing this

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts...

