Meal Plan Monday

 

I’m not deviating very much from last week.  Chicken is the main protein plus fruits and veggies for snacks.

I’m still tracking all my meals with My Fitness Pal…even when I know it’ll put me over my calorie intake.  It’s tempting to just “neglect” putting in certain foods because sometimes it’s easier to ignore the truth.

My glaring truth for today was the cookie I ate for a “snack” was 440 calories….so basically my “snack” ate up most of the calories meant for dinner.

The friend I was enjoying snack time with noticed me putting my cookie into the app and said, “Don’t tell me how bad my brownie is”  I get it.  I didn’t want to know I was eating a 440 calorie cookie.  I also didn’t want to tell her that her delicious chocolate brownie was over 500 calories.  We don’t want to know.

314849_397417116986439_1317863400_n

We want to be unaware of the unsavory truth in our savory treats.  If we ignore it, it’s not there.

It’s easier to think “This is delicious” rather than “What’s in this?”

It’s easier to say, “I’ll eat a light dinner” or “I earned this” or “It’s not that many calories or that much fat or sugar”

I’m not saying treats aren’t needed and I’m definitely never going to be one to obsess over every calorie (Sometimes a girl just needs a cookie or some ice cream) but I think it is important to be aware.

That’s what tracking meals is all about for me.

Awareness.

Awareness of what I’m eating.
Awareness of how much I’m eating.
Awareness of my eating habits.

The days I do the best are the days I eat a good breakfast, bigger lunch, lots of snacks, and a simple dinner plus getting in a work out during the day.

I know what I NEED to do but just have to keep working on how to continuously stay on track because I’m very easily derailed.   Hopefully my meal plans will help keep me on track.  Some days it seems simple and other days more challenging.  I do my best to stick with it because I know the more I do this, the easier it gets because eventually it won’t be “trying to eat healthier” it will simply be how I eat.

I didn’t realize this would be such a long post but guess that’s what happens when I don’t write for a week 🙂  It’s dinner time for me but I wanted to make sure to post my meal plans for the week.  Happy Monday!

Monday

Breakfast:  Starbucks-Bacon and gouda breakfast sandwich

Lunch:  Panera-Steak and cheese pannini, vegetable soup

Dinner:  Pasta with tikka masala veggies plus spinach

Snacks:  None

Tuesday

Breakfast:  Omelet

Lunch:  Leftover pasta with added chicken

Dinner:  Out for trivia.  If not, Stir fry veggies with rice and chicken.

Snacks:  Yogurt, pretzels with peanut butter

Wednesday

Breakfast:  Scrambled eggs with spinach

Lunch:  Chicken wrap with cucumbers and dip

Dinner:  Chicken w/rice and stir fry veggies

Snacks:  Clementines, yogurt

Thursday

Breakfast:  Oatmeal w/apples

Lunch:  Leftovers.

Dinner:  Chicken w/chickpeas, spinach, rice

Snacks:  String cheese, clementines, pretzels w/dip

Friday

Breakfast:  Breakfast burrito

Lunch:  Leftovers

Dinner:  Chicken quesadilla w/rice

Snacks:  Pretzels w/dip, string cheese

3 comments

  1. Layla · 10 Days Ago

    There is nothing wrong with going over your calorie intake. If you don’t do it every day it will not cause you to gain weight, since your body is perfectly able to proces te extra calories.
    Maybe sub your chicken for some tofu/tempeh every once in a while. Or replace with chickpea’s.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Daisy9979 · 9 Days Ago

      Good call on the tofu. For some reason I haven’t been using tofu at all lately, it’ll definitely be on the menu next week 🙂

      Like

      • Layla · 9 Days Ago

        Just don’t forget to marinade it 😛

        Like

Share your thoughts...

