Miles of Goals

It always starts this way…the enthusiasm, the motivation, the confident pep talk that “this is the time that everything changes”, the fridge full of healthy food, daily trips to the gym….then something happensdundundunIt’s usually some little thing, an unexpected late night at work, skipping the gym a couple nights, binging on pizza, cookies in the breakroom, etc, etc, etc.  Basically it seems like something always happens that derails me but….*prepare for dramatic pep talk* I’m hoping this is really it, this is the time that everything changes 😀

53579711

One of the biggest differences right now is my newfound love of 5K’s.  I have 2 planned this month, then the big 10K next month, possibly one in April, and definitely another in May.

I’ve learned even if I’m only walking and not running I still need to be in decent shape.  When your typical activity is confirming to Netflix that “yes, I am still watching” getting out to walk 3.1 miles can be a challenge.

am-i-the-only-one-who-gets-offended-when-netflix-asks-me-if-im-still-watching-you-dont-know-my-life-da602

I learned that the hard way when I went to a 5K after not working out for a few weeks and my body hated me.  My body is moderately angry with me right now so I’m taking it slow-ish by getting to the gym every day with the only rule being I need to walk at least 1 mile.

Here’s how this rule helps me walk 2 miles every day:  I find that I can walk/jog a mile in about 18 minutes so then I decide I should work out for at least 30 minutes which typically puts me around 1.5 miles or more so then I just decide to walk 2.0 miles.  Yes, I have to trick myself to walk 2 miles but whatever works.

My second mile is a little slower so I’m hoping to up my speed a little bit and start doing 2.5 miles every day.   There’s a 5K the end of the month so my goal is to be at 16:30 minute mile then hopefully working toward a 16 minute mile for the 10K.  My goal for the 10K is to finish in under 100 minutes.

The honest truth is I have my doubts about these goals but I also have confidence that I can achieve these goals.  The 10K terrifies me and I still wonder what I was thinking when I decided to sign up.

superthumbHonestly, I think the goals are ambitious but not outlandish.  We’ll see how the rest of the month goes.  One of the people driving me right now is my 10K partner because I don’t want to let her down by walking too slow or not being able to jog part of the time.  It’s part of the reason I’m working so hard right now.  Also…..

The Biggest Loser Challenge at work has 15 people who each put in $10 so whoever wins that gets $150 😮  I could use that money but I’m not going to get crazy about it.  I’m liking the positive encouragement and support but some people are just out of control (topic for another post) with their competitive side.

That’s all I’ve got for now.  Time for a quick snack then bed time.  Things I’ve discovered about working out is I have a serious appetite so I’m working on the best times and what to eat that works for me.  The other benefit is I’m actually tire at bedtime so no more tossing and turning for me lately.  It’s pretty amazing.

Hope everyone is having a good week, gotta love a short work week!  🙂

 

 

Share your thoughts...

