Meal Plan Monday-Superfoods Edition

I’m admittedly late in creating this post because yesterday was the last day of Cancer Prevention Month but awareness is important at all times of the year.  I was approached to write an article about this topic and was at first uncertain of how I would make this work for me, my blog, and my readers.

Living a healthier lifestyle is one of the ways to help prevent cancer.  Total prevention is not possible because cancer is evil and strikes without prejudice, but taking care of yourself certainly doesn’t hurt in the fight.  I’m not an expert on cancer but it’s safe to say I know cancer.

I know how it feels when someone you love tells you they have cancer.  I know how it feels to live with the fact that I could one day have cancer.  I know how it feels to lose someone to cancer.  It’s my personal connection to cancer that made me want to explore the topic of prevention and something I will continue to explore from time to time in future posts.

When I received the information I was inspired by the information above because I realized the three points listed above are items I’m working on in my own life.  Eating healthy, working out, and enjoying time outside are things I try to do everyday in my pursuit of a healthier lifestyle (even as I sit here eating Hot Tamales, appropriately portioned so I don’t eat the whole box, lol).

The word superfoods stood out to me because it’s a term I’ve heard but don’t know very much about and since I love research I thought I would look into superfoods.  The definition from Google is “a nutrient-rich food considered to be especially beneficial for health and well-being.”

My original plan was to research how each of the superfoods work throwing out information on vitamins, how the foods affect the body, all the diseases they help prevent but I’m not writing a research paper I’m writing a blog.  I wanted to find a way to share information in my own way.  There’s tons of information on the subject and I would encourage looking into it because it’s pretty impressive how certain foods really work to help keep you healthy.  My plan to introduce this topic into my blog is to incorporate the superfoods into my meal plans.

Here’s a few superfoods:  Broccoli, Berries, Beans, Salmon, Garlic, Walnuts, Carrots, Spinach, Kale, whole grains, green tea, and Tomatoes.  There’s tons more but in my quick research these were the few I was seeing consistently plus these were some I knew I could incorporate into my easy meal plans 😀

M:  Quesadilla with chicken, cheese, and spinach

T:  Out for dinner

W:  Whole wheat spaghetti with chicken and broccoli

T:  Tofu veggie stir fry

F:  Salmon with green beans and cauliflower mash

S:  Pinto Bean Soup (Recipe TBD)

S:  Probably leftover soup 🙂

My inspiration for this post was from the Mesothelioma and Asbestos Awareness Center.  Check out their page and their blog for more information.

Hope everyone is having a good week!  Today was a rough day but we’re one day closer to Friday and it’s Trivia Night!  Yay!  I’m going to throw on my thinking cat and head out!   😄  thinking-cap-no-wait-hat

 

 

5 comments

  1. Pingback: Random Health Topic-Asbestos | Transitions in my Life
  2. Pingback: A Random, Lazy Sunday Post | Transitions in my Life
  3. Opinionated Man · March 1, 2016

    That was informative info for people! I am sure someone will gain something from reading it. I don’t know what it is like to have cancer, but I do know what it is like to know people that have it. Posts like this give people something to talk about rather than dwelling on what can’t be changed.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Daisy9979 · March 2, 2016

      I think with cancer it’s too easy to just feel like it’s inevitable if you have a family history or all is lost if you’re diagnosed. Some things can’t be changed but how we eat and incorporate activity into our lives is within our control. Thanks for reading and commenting 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Opinionated Man · March 2, 2016

        Those are great points and that focus is awesome to share for people that are probably struggling to “focus” on anything at all!

        Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts...

